The ROC Holy Synod meets for its last session in 2014

On December 25, 2014, the Holy Synod of the Russian Orthodox Church began its last session in 2014 at the Patriarchal and Synodal Residence in St. Daniel’s Monastery in Moscow. It is chaired by His Holiness Patriarch Kirill of Moscow and All Russia.

Before the session, Patriarch Kirill spoke briefly on major items of the agenda. He said in particular, ‘We are to sum up the work carried out in various areas and to evaluate a number of events which took place this year and to discuss and adopt several legal documents. Finally, we are to make a decision on the election of several candidates to episcopate’. In addition, he said, the Holy Synod was to consider the establishment of new dioceses of the Russian Orthodox Church.

The permanent members of the Holy Synod are Metropolitan Onufry of Kiev and All Ukraine, Metropolitan Juvenaly of Krutitsy and Kolomna, Metropolitan Vladimir of Kishinev and All Moldova, Metropolitan Alexander of Astana and Kazakhstan, Metropolitan Vikenty of Tashkent and Uzbekistan, Metropolitan Varsonofy of St Petersburg and Ladoga, Metropolitan Pavel of Minsk and Zaslavl, Patriarchal Exarch for All Belarus; and Metropolitan Hilarion of Volokolamsk, head of the Department for External Church Relations.

Summoned for the 2013 winter session are Metropolitan Feodor of Keenest-Podolsk and Gorodok, Metropolitan Ignaty of Vologda and Kirillov, Archbishop Simon of Brussels and Belgium, Bishop Nikodim of Yedinets and Briceni, and Bishop Artemy of Petropavlovsk and Kamchatka.

Patriarchal Press Service
DECR Communication Service