Ordination of Priests in the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin

Armenian Apostolic Church

On December 13, in the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin, during the celebration of Divine Liturgy, 12 deacons of the Armenian Church were consecrated and ordained to the Holy Order of Priesthood by His Grace Bishop Vrtanes Abrahamian, Head Chaplain of the Republic of Armenia Armed Forces. The ordaining bishop consecrated the foreheads, then the right and left hands of the new priests with Holy Chrism (Muron) and gave them new names.

Deacon Vaghinak Hovhannisian was renamed Father Vasken,
Deacon Ashot Sahakian was renamed Father Hmayak,
Deacon Armen Gevorkian was renamed Father Nairi,
Deacon Artur Ghazarian was renamed Father Vigen,
Deacon Sayad Papayan was renamed Father Yervand,
Deacon Armen Nazarian was renamed Father Yeghishe,
Deacon Edgar Mazmanian was renamed Father Zohrab,
Deacon Stepan Shakhkian was renamed Father Davit,
Deacon Aram Tsaturian was renamed Father Anania,
Deacon Artak Nurijanian was renamed Father Michael,
Deacon Samvel Safarian was renamed Father Ashot,
Deacon Arman Grigorian was renamed Father Hakob

Members of the Brotherhood of Holy Etchmiadzin ascended the altar and congratulated the new priests.

Following the consecration, Bishop Vrtanes addressed his message to the newly ordained clergy calling upon them to serve their rank, the Mother Cathedral and the Homeland with devotion and loyalty.

Later that same day, prior to evening services, the Granting of the Cowl (veghar) service was offered. Fr. Hakob, Fr. Anania and Fr. Hmayak, having all chosen the ranks of celibate priesthood, were vested with their cowls and became members of the Brotherhood of Holy Etchmiadzin.

Following their ordination, the new clergy will follow the traditional 40-day seclusion period of fasting after which they will offer their first Divine Liturgy and the new priests will be appointed to serve in different Dioceses of the Armenian Holy Apostolic Church and in different departments of the Mother See of Holy Etchmiadzin.