Future of MGOCSM in the Diaspora

Indian Orthodox Church

February 8: The second Satsangh of this semester held on February 8, concentrated on the future of the MGOCSM in the diaspora. The chief resource person for this Satsangh were H.G. Dr. Abraham Mar Seraphim and Mr. Liju Varghese.

The Satsangh was graced by the presence of eminent personalities like H. G. Geevarghese Mar Coorilos and H. G. Dr. Yuhanon Mar Diascoros. All the Bishops shared their experiences with the MGOCSM and their expectations from the seminarians as future clergy of the church. Mr. Liju Varghese focused upon the challenges that the youth face and suggested measures to tackle these problems effectively. The students and faculty effectively contributed to the discussion.

Catholicosate Centenary – “Dreams fulfilled and yet to be….”
February 9: To commemorate the 1960th anniversary of the Apostolic visit of St. Thomas to India, a seminar was held at STOTS. The theme of the seminar was “Malankara Orthodox Church, Dreams fulfilled and yet to be……” Eminent personalities like H. G. (Dr.) Yuhanon Mar Diascoros (Metropolitan, Chennai Diocese), Mr. M. G. George Muthoot (Lay Trustee, Malankara Orthodox Church), Rev. Fr. Philipose Venatu (Professor, STOTS), and Mrs. (Dr.) Susan Thomas presented their papers on the topic.

Distinguished personalities who shared their views included H. G. Geevarghese Mar Coorilos (Working president of STOTS). H. G. (Dr.) Joseph Mar Dionysius, H. G. (Dr.) Yuhanon Mar Demetrios, H.G. (Dr.) Geevarghese Mar Yulios and H. G. (Dr.) Abraham Mar Seraphim. The presentations were an eye opener as they highlighted the autonomy of our Church from ancient times and also gave insights about the future milestones to be achieved by our Church.

On this auspicious occasion, the Souvenir for the Seminary project- Upasana was released by H. G. Geevarghese Mar Coorilos. H. G. (Dr.) Yuhanon Mar Demetrios inaguarated the new LCD projector which was donated to STOTS by H. G. (Dr.) Joseph Mar Dionysius. The Principal Rev.Fr.Dr.Bijesh Philip welcomed the gathering and H.G. (Dr.) Geevarghese Mar Yulios delivered the vote of thanks.